WE WILL FIGHT FOR THE DISMISSAL OF YOUR DWI CASE!
Austin Underage DWI Lawyer
For parents, it can be a disheartening experience when their child is arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Austin. DWI is a serious crime with severe repercussions, possibly causing many parents to fear for their child’s future wellbeing.
Texas leads the nation in drunk driving deaths, and according to the Centers for Disease Control, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for teens in the United States, with the risk highest among sixteen to nineteen year olds. As a result, our lawmakers continue to implement laws for tougher penalties and regulations.
For those arrested and charged with underage drinking and driving, it is critical to obtain an aggressive and experienced Austin underage DWI lawyer. At Tillman Braniff, we have the experience and knowledge that can both help you through this difficult event and give your case the best possible chance for a successful outcome.
Future Consequences of Underage DWI Charges in Austin
Texas is a zero tolerance state for underage drinking. It is a criminal offense in Austin if there is any traceable amount of alcohol in anyone under the age of twenty-one, regardless of whether they are driving a vehicle or not.
In Austin, no exception is given to drivers under the age of twenty-one for driving under the influence of alcohol. For those underage drivers who make the decision to get behind the wheel after consuming an alcoholic beverage, the consequences can have long-term devastating effects and may be difficult to recover from. Many of the penalties could follow you throughout your young adult life and beyond, potentially limiting your driving privileges, employment options, and loan and housing opportunities.
Legal Penalties for Underage DWI
While the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers in Austin over the age of twenty-one is .08 percent, drivers under the age of twenty-one are not permitted to have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system while operating a motor vehicle.
Underage drivers seventeen to twenty years old who have a BAC of .08 or higher can expect to face the same consequences as older drivers who are convicted of DWI, such as a fine of up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, and a driver’s license suspension lasting between ninety days and one year.
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, for a first offense, if underage drivers are caught with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system, they may receive the following penalties:
- License suspension for sixty days
- Fines of up to $500
- Community service commitment requiring between twenty and forty hours
- Required attendance of alcohol-awareness classes, focusing on preventing subsequent offenses
The penalties increase when a person under the age of twenty-one is caught drinking and driving for a second or third offense.
An Austin Underage DWI Lawyer Can Help
If you have been charged with an underage DWI in Austin, it is important to have the support of a reputable underage DWI lawyer. With a proven track record of successfully representing DWI cases, the attorneys of Tillman Braniff will work hard to protect your rights and fight the charges against you or your child. Call 512-236-0505 to talk to one of our qualified attorneys today.