Need An Austin Criminal Defense Lawyer?
Criminal Defense Resources
Frequently Asked Questions
Williamson County Assault Lawyer
An assault conviction can forever change your future. Work with a Williamson County assault lawyer to find out how to build the strongest defense possible.
An assault charge can make your life miserable in more ways than one. Outside of the financial burden, you may be faced with jail time and a significant dent in your reputation, thereby causing strain in your personal and professional life alike.
The good news is that there's something you can do to challenge the violent crime charges against you: Contact a Williamson County assault lawyer from Tillman Braniff, PLLC. Our firm will help you through all the legal proceedings following your arrest with the goal of seeing your charges dismissed or reduced.
Naturally, you have a better chance at dismissal or reduction if it's your first offense, but our attorneys may still be able to get these results for repeat offenders.
Assault Laws in Texas
In Texas, you can be charged with assault if you actually cause harm to someone or if you only threaten to (e.g., waving a knife at someone or putting up your fists). Whether you actually do hurt someone isn't necessarily a determining factor in many assault cases.
According to the law, there are three ways you can be charged with assault:
- Threatening to injure someone
- Intentionally injuring someone
- Intentionally initiating physical contact when the other person deems it offensive (such as sexual assault)
After you’ve been charged, your Williamson County assault lawyer will begin looking at your case to examine the potential penalties you may face and the course of action needed to reduce or dismiss these charges.
Penalties for Assault in Texas
While the penalties for assault in Texas will vary based on your criminal history, the type of assault, and whether any weapons were involved, the important thing to note is the difference between misdemeanor and felony assault.
Misdemeanor Assault and Penalties
A misdemeanor is generally regarded as a less serious crime. When it comes to assault in Texas, a misdemeanor charge can fall under three classes, and each comes with its own set of penalties:
- Class A – Up to one year in jail and fines of up to $10,000
- Class B – Up to 180 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000
- Class C – Fines of up to $500
Felony Assault and Penalties
A felony carries much more weight in court and will likely result in harsher penalties if you are convicted:
- Third-Degree Assault – Prison for up to ten years and up to $10,000 in fines
- Second-Degree Assault – Two to twenty years in prison and fines up to $10,000
- First-Degree Assault – Five years to life in prison plus fines
Aggravated assault is an assault in which serious injuries occurred and/or a weapon was used as part of the assault. The specifics of the aggravated assault case will determine the penalties you may be facing.
Contact a Wilco Assault Lawyer
An assault charge can land you in hot water legally, financially, and emotionally. The damages may last a lifetime, and your reputation will be tarnished. See how we can help by contacting a Williamson County assault lawyer at Tillman Braniff, PLLC today. Schedule a free and confidential consultation by completing the form below or by calling us at 512-473-8745.