WE WILL FIGHT FOR THE DISMISSAL OF YOUR DWI CASE!
DWI Defense Resources
Williamson County Boating While Intoxicated Lawyer
Many people don’t realize it, but a BWI arrest can result in penalties and repercussions that are every bit as severe as a DWI. Get the defense you need by working with a Williamson County boating while intoxicated lawyer.
Taking your boat on the water is a great summer activity enjoyed by many Texans. Unfortunately, when boating gets mixed with drinking, it can land you in hot water.
Boating while intoxicated (BWI) can lead to serious criminal charges and tarnish your record and reputation. Even worse, you may be subject to high fines and possibly even jail time depending on the severity of your crime and previous criminal record.
When you've been arrested for BWI, your best chance at beating your charge and protecting your future is to contact a Williamson County boating while intoxicated lawyer from Tillman Braniff, PLLC. We are here to help you through all of the legal hurdles behind your arrest and to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Understanding Boating While Intoxicated Laws
According to Texas law, you can be arrested for BWI if you are operating a watercraft under the influence of drugs or alcohol, causing you not to have “normal use of mental or physical faculties,” or if you have a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration of .08 percent or greater. If a police officer believes that you are intoxicated, you can be asked to take a breathalyzer test as this qualifies as probable cause.
Texas defines a watercraft as a vessel, one or more water skis, an aquaplane, or another device used for transporting or carrying a person on water, other than a device propelled only by the current of water.
Once you've been arrested for these charges and contact a Williamson County boating while intoxicated lawyer from our firm, you and your lawyer can discuss the possible penalties you may be facing and how to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Penalties and Punishments for Drunk Boating
Depending on your specific circumstances, you may face a variety of charges if you are convicted. In general, there are certain penalties you can expect for BWI:
- First Offense – Fine of up to $2,000 and jail time of up to 180 days
- Second Conviction – Fine of up to $4,000 and jail time of up to one year
- Third Conviction – Fine of up to $10,000 and prison time of between two and ten years
Connect with a Williamson County BWI Lawyer
Boating while intoxicated is treated as a serious crime in the state of Texas; one that’s every bit as severe as drunk driving. A conviction could easily result in lifelong consequences. The financial burden on you and your family can be even worse.
Contact a Williamson County boating while intoxicated lawyer from Tillman Braniff, PLLC today by filling out the form below. You can also give us a call at 512-473-8745 to schedule your free and confidential consultation today.